Drive

The CryptDrive is used to store and manage documents. For logged in users it is the default landing page on CryptPad. It is also accessible from the other pages:

  • Click on the logo at the top-left.

  • User menu (avatar at the top-right) > CryptDrive.

Display

Documents in the CryptDrive can be displayed as a list or a grid. To switch between the two, use the button at the right of the CryptDrive toolbar (under the avatar).

In grid mode, CryptPad can display thumbnails of documents. These can be turned on in the user settings.

../_images/drive-grid.png

The CryptDrive in grid view.

../_images/drive-list.png

The CryptDrive in list view.

Managing documents

Folders

Logged in users

There are multiple ways to create folders in the CryptDrive:

  • New in the toolbar > Folder.

  • Right click > New folder.

  • Ctrl + e > Folder.

Once a folder is created, documents can be added to it by dragging them from the CryptDrive.

To change the color of a folder:

  • Right click on the folder > Change color.

To share a folder and all of its contents:

  • Right click on the folder > Share. The folder will then be converted into a shared folder.

Renaming

There are two ways to rename documents on CryptPad. One changes the document title for all users, the other changes it only in your CryptDrive.

To change the title of a documents for all users that have it in their CryptDrive:

  1. Click on the title or the button in the toolbar of the document.

  2. Type the new title.

  3. Save with the button or Enter key.

To change the title of a document only in your CryptDrive:

  1. Right click on the document in your CryptDrive > Rename.

  2. Type the new name.

  3. Save with the Enter key.

The icon indicates that the title of a document is different in your CryptDrive than for other users.

Deleting

There are two ways of deleting a document on CryptPad:

  • Removing a document means it stops appearing in the CryptDrive but remains in the database. The document remains in the CryptDrive of other users who have stored it. The document can be recovered in the CryptDrive using the history.

  • Destroying a document deletes it from the database permanently. The document is deleted from all CryptDrives that store it, and it cannot be recovered using the CryptDrive history. Document owners

Note

If a document is not stored in any CryptDrive, it is destroyed from the database after 90 days (the length of this delay can be set by the service administrators).

To remove a document from the CryptDrive.

  • Drag the document from the CryptDrive into the Trash.

  • Right click > Move to trash

  • Select the document and press the Del key.

To remove the document from the CryptDrive without storing it in the trash first:

  • Select the document and press the Shift + Del keys.

To empty the trash:

  • Right click on the Trash tab to the left of the CryptDrive > Empty the trash.

  • Click on the Trash tab to access the trash > Empty the trash.

If you are an owner of some documents in the trash when you empty it, you are prompted to decide if you want to remove or destroy them.

To destroy a document without storing it in the trash first:

  • Right click on the document in the CryptDrive > Destroy. Document owners

Note

Once destroyed, documents may still appear in other user's CryptDrives. Once a document has been added to someone's drive, the encrypted nature of CryptPad makes it impossible to take it back. Therefore a destroyed document may still appeared in a user's drive if they had previously stored it. However, they will not be able to open the document.

CryptDrive history

The CryptDrive history is saved and can be restored if needed. From the CryptDrive:

  1. Click on the history button at the top-right (under the avatar).

  2. Use the arrows and to step through the history.

  3. Restore the displayed version with Restore, or exit the history without restoring with Close.

To save storage space the CryptDrive history can be deleted in the user settings.

Note

Shared folders have their own history, separate from the CryptDrive history. Restoring the history of the drive does not affect shared folders, conversely the history of a shared folder can be restored without affecting the rest of the drive.

Tags

Logged in users

Group documents in multiple categories by using tags. Your tags are not visible by other users.

The Tags tab in the CryptDrive displays all tags in use and their associated documents.

../_images/modal-tags.png

To add or remove tags from a document:

  • From the CrytpDrive: Right click on the document > Tags.

  • From a document: File > Tags.

To manage tags for multiple documents:

  1. Select the documents with Ctrl + Click in the CryptDrive.

  2. Right click on the documents > Tags.

Only the tags assigned to all the documents are then displayed. Any tags added and/or removed are applied to all the selected documents.

Templates

Logged in users

Templates provide reusable starting points to create documents of a similar structure, for example invoices, letterheads, reports, and so on.

To create a template:

  1. Select the Templates tab in the CryptDrive.

  2. New in the toolbar.

or

  1. In an existing document: File > Save as template.

or

  1. Create a new document.

  2. On the creation screen select New template.

To use a template:

  • Select the template when creating a new document.

  • In an existing document: File > Import a template. Please note: this option replaces the contents of the document with the template.