Collaboration / Social

Profile

Logged in users

Each registered user on CryptPad has a profile page accessible from the user menu:

  • User menu (avatar at the top-right) > Profile.

Personal profile

The following elements can be customised on the profile page:

  • Avatar with Upload a new avatar.

  • Description with Add a description.

  • Website with Add a link to your website.

Sharing:

  • View my profile: Preview the profile page as it appears to other users.

  • Share: Copy a link to your profile.

User profile

To see the profile of another user:

  • User list of a document where they are connected > Click on their name.

  • If the user is in your list of contacts. User menu (avatar at the top-right) > Contacts > Double click on their name in the list.

On another user’s profile page:

  • Send a contact request: Adds this user to your contacts once they have approved the request.

  • Mute: Blocks notifications and messages from this user. They will not know that they have been muted.

  • Copy public key: Copies the key used by instance administrators and on instances that offer subscriptions.

Contacts

Logged in users

On CryptPad, using contacts makes collaboration more secure and simple.

Add a contact

By sharing your profile:

  1. Copy the link: User menu (avatar at the top-right) > Profile > Share.

  2. Paste and send through the means of your choice (preferably a secure mode of cummunication).

On the profile page of another user:

  1. Click Send a contact request.

Manage contacts

To access the Contacts page:

  • User menu (avatar at the top-right) > Contacts.

All contacts are listed at the left of the window. For each contact:

  • : Mute messages and notifications.

  • : Remove.

  • : Indicates that this contact is online.

Chat with contacts

On the Contacts page, Click on a contact in the list to open the chat with them in the main window.

Write messages in the field at the bottom and send them with or Enter.

Load more chat history with or delete the history with .

Teams

Logged in users

CryptPad teams are shared spaces between a group of users. A team has its own CryptDrive, chat, and a list of members with roles and permissions.

Note

The number of teams a CryptPad user can join used to be limited to 3 for performance reasons. This has now been increased to 5 as we have added details to the loading screen that show how long teams take to load. This allows users to negotiate the tradeoff between number of teams and increased loading time.

To create a team:

  1. User menu (avatar at the top-right) > Teams.

  2. New.

To open an existing team:

  1. User menu (avatar at the top-right) > Teams.

  2. Teams > Open button on the desired team.

Team Drive

The team storage space is similar to the CryptDrive but shared between members of the team.

Team members

To manage the members of a team, go to the Members tab.

Invite members

To invite members to a team:

  • Members tab > Invite members.

Contacts tab: Select CryptPad contacts to invite them to the team. Invitees receive an invite notification and can confirm they want to join the team.

Link tab: Copy a link to send through the means of your choice (preferably a secure mode of cummunication). This link is single-use only. It becomes invalid after someone first uses it to join the team.

  • Temporary name: Used to identify the invite link in the list of pending invitations.

  • Password: Protect the link against potiential interception. (optional)

  • Personal message: Message that the recipient will see before they decide to accept the invitation to join the team.

Roles and permissions

Role

View

Edit

Manage members

Manage team

Viewers

Members

Admins

Owners

Permissions:

View: access folders and pads (read-only).

Edit: create, modify, and delete folders and pads.

Manage Members: invite and revoke members, change member roles up to Admin.

Manage Team: change team name and avatar, add or remove Owners, change team subscription, delete team.

Administration

Each member’s role can be changed in the team roster. Team admins and owners can manage members of equal or lower role. For each member:

: Promote to higher role.
: Demote to lower role.
: Kick from the team.

Chat

The team chat is similar to the chat with contacts except shared between all members of the team.

Administration tab

Team owners

  • Public signing key: Used to identify the team on instances that offer subscitpions.

  • Team name: Change the name of the team.

  • Team avatar: Import/modify an avatar for the team.

  • Download team drive: Save the content of all documents in the CryptDrive. When possible, this is done in a format that is readable by other software. Some applications produce files that are only readable by CryptPad.

  • Team deletion: Permanently delete the team and all of its documents.